BSA204: Return of the Sarkies

Duncan came back this week and just in time to be able to give me some advice on my table play before I handed it in. The screenplay was due on Tuesday and Duncan arrived on Monday so i met with him to have a read over my step outline and get some feedback.

He like my idea, but suggested I rework the ending to reflect the beginning. I did have the story end with the two children, Katie and Tom, deciding to play a different game. Taking Duncan’s advice, I went back to the story and rewrote the end entirely. During this process, I got a bit stuck. I came to a point where I just didn’t know where to go next. Thi got me to thinking and I realised that ending a story is the part I seem to struggle with the most. I can start a story and take it to some interesting places, but then I just come to a standstill.
Duncan asked us at the end of class on Thursday to have a think about what we would like him to cover while he is here so I went up to him straight away and told him about my problem. I feel that the ending of a story is one of the most important parts because I think it leaves the biggest impression on you. I’m really looking forward to whatever advice Duncan has to offer on this, and hopefully it will help me to find ways to effectively end my stories.


Below is a little snippet of my finished table play that I titled The Play Date.

Screen Shot 2016-05-14 at 2.46.02 PM

One thought on “BSA204: Return of the Sarkies

Leave a Reply

