BSA204: Final Short Film

It took me long time to think of something to write about for this last project for screenwriting. I did want to write a web series, because I thought that would be quite different to write, and a lot of fun too. The problem was that I couldn’t think of something that would be entertaining and that I would enjoy writing about and eventually making. Having a lot of other projects to think about at the same time didn’t help with this process at all.
With the due date for this project, which I was constantly thinking about because it was unusual for our tutor to set the due date on a day we don’t have class with him, looming closer and closer, I decided a short film would be easier to write than a web series. Although, that didn’t mean I had any ideas for that either.

On Tuesday, the day before this screenplay was due, I settled on developing a piece of writing I did with Duncan into a short film. I had wanted to avoid doing this because the piece was quite personal and I didn’t really want to play around with it and turn it into something that didn’t do it justice.
The story I wrote is called Acceptance. It’s the story of a girl who, for no reason in particular, is an outcast so she sits alone and just watches people trying to figure out why she isn’t included, but then someone includes her and they eventually become friends. I know it sounds really cliché, and I really hate cliché things, but i didn’t have time to rewrite in a way that fitted what was in my mind.

With everything else I’ve written, I’ve kept in my mind that it needs to be achievable to film, but with this project I tried not to think that way. When i set down to write it, I let myself be free with how many extra members of the cast i wrote into it. The story is set in a high school and many of the scenes in the courtyard during lunch break so if I were to film this i would need a lot of extras.
I have to be honest, I really don’t want to film this. I think that’s partly due to the fact that this basis for the story I wrote came from a piece of writing that I was really happy with as it was, so to me it should stay as a piece of writing. The problem with that is this screenplay is meant to be filmed next semester, and I have absolutely no desire to film it, not even just for assessment purposes. Perhaps if I change the story around (basically re write the entire thing), I’ll be okay to do so.

I wouldn’t say I’m unhappy with this screenplay, but I do wish I had more time to work on it. That being said, I actually had more time than I thought. I ended up staying up until 5am Wednesday morning to finish this and it turns out we had been given a 5 day extension. Somehow I’d missed this important piece of information, so… good job me.

Leave a Reply

