BSA234: Stuck

So for my film drama project I decided to film my non-dialogue short film Stuck. This is about a girl having drinks with a guy in a club, but nature calls so she goes to the bathroom where she ends up stuck in the cubicle because it won’t unlock.

Last Sunday a classmate kindly arranged for me to be able to film in Barluca on Wednesday, so I spent the few days in between stressing over finding actors and organising shots.
I didn’t have time to look through the database for actors so I asked Daisy and Josh if they would act for me. Thankfully they were happy to do so. The biggest struggle was finding enough extras to make the setting look convincing. Not many people were able to come on the day, so that was a little disappointing. If I’d planned everything a bit better and given myself longer to find extras I’m sure I would have been able to wrangle some more.
Because of not having many extras I had to cut some shots, but I’m really happy with what I did shoot. Although, it turns out I have an issue with focusing shots properly. When I looked over the footage, some of it isn’t quite in focus (as far as I can tell) even though I used the focus peaking. I was told afterwards that the focus peaking isn’t quite accurate.

I filmed the bathroom scenes on Friday at SIT. This was quite a fun part to film because Daisy’s character has to fall off the toilet after standing on it. I spilt water on the floor, scattered pieces of toilet paper, and walked over it to make the floor look really gross and dirty. i felt a bit mean because made Daisy sit in it at the end, but by that stage it wasn’t very wet so hopefully it wasn’t too gross.

Again, I wasn’t as well organised as I could have been, so I missed one or two shots that I wanted to get (like Daisy’s leg or hand hitting the door when she falls which makes the door pop open), but when I looked over the footage I realised I didn’t really need it. It turns out Daisy is pushing on a pull door, so it just looks like she’s being really blonde and the door isn’t really stuck.
I’m really looking forward to editing this. I think it’s going to turn out really good. The only thing I’m going to need to pay extra attention to is the audio because we ended up not recording sound except through the camera which will sound really terrible. I’m not sure if I’ll have time to fiddle around with that for this assessment, but I’d like to work on it at some point.

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 10.46.32 PM
Storyboards for shot 13
Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 10.38.01 PM
Shot 13
Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 10.45.36 PM
Storyboards for shots 16 & 17
Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 10.43.42 PM
Shot 17
Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 10.46.20 PM
Storyboards for shot 19
Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 10.39.59 PM
Shot 19
Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 10.45.55 PM
Storyboards for shot 68
Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 10.36.37 PM
Shot 68
Leave a Reply

