BSA234: Stuck? Not Anymore…

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 6.37.18 PM
Ungraded
Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 2.47.31 PM
Graded

Colouring correcting on my short film Stuck proved to be quite difficult. As always, I started at the first clip, but that was set in the club where we the coloured lights going. These coloured lights were mostly red or pink, so they cast a reddish glow over everything. I didn’t really mind this look too much, and I thought it fitted the environment quite well, so I wasn’t too keen on colour correcting to much. I also didn’t want the footage to be too light or “natural” looking because that’s not what it actually looks like inside a bar or nightclub.
As we were required for assessment to submit a graded and an ungraded version of our short films, I set to colour correcting. I normally quite enjoy this process, but this footage was particularly difficult to work with because of the lighting we’d used during filming. Trying to match skin tone between shots was especially tricky. At one stage I had the skin tone far too pink even though it was matching relatively well between certain shots. Unable to match all of the shots, I started again, but this time made the skin tone far too orange in some shots and too yellow in others. I think part of the reason for my struggle can be put to the fact that I hadn’t had nearly enough sleep in the days leading up to the editing process. In the end I just started over completely with the colour correction and tried to make it much simpler, and I’m quite happy with the result, but I’m also just trying not to look too closely or I’ll probably hate it again.

The scenes filmed in the bathroom were much easier to colour correct and took considerably less time than the club scenes. For those scenes my aim was to make them less green and make my actress’s skin tone more natural and less sickly. I think I did this quite well.

There’s certainly things I could have done better when filming this project, but even so, I think this is the best piece of film work I have produced so far. My goal with this project was to produce something that I was/am proud of, and even though I recognise it is not perfect (far from, in fact), I am still proud of what I have done here.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 6.38.15 PM
Ungraded
Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 2.48.01 PM
Graded
Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 6.40.12 PM
Ungraded
Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 2.48.21 PM
Graded
One thought on “BSA234: Stuck? Not Anymore…

Leave a Reply

