BSA206: What We Do In The Shadows

shadows-still_46658

Directed by Taika Waititi and Jermaine Clement ❖ Released 2014

This is possibly one of my favourite films so when we were told we would be watching it in class I was very excited.

What We Do In The Shadows is a mockumentary/dark comedy (or mockumentary horror comedy) and is funny – really funny – but often in quite a subtle way and I guess that’s quite typical of a dark comedy.
It stars the directors of the film, Taika Waititi and Jermaine Clement, and they give brilliant performances.

I will be honest, I don’t know how to review this film. I feel I should be critically picking it to pieces and analysing it to the point where I can no longer watch it, but I find this is really just a film that needs to be enjoyed. This isn’t one of those films that makes it more interesting once you’ve analysed all the shots, angles and general psychology of the camera, this is one of those films where you can just sit back and enjoy. Yes, some of the jokes are really quite cringeworthy, but that’s the nature of the story and the characters so it’s easily forgiven (actually I find myself laughing more because of it).
I did try and do quite a bit of research before writing this review and found some interesting facts in the process, but that didn’t inspire me to write a “technical” review because, like I say, I personally don’t think it calls for one. I do think I find this film enjoyable and am able to just watch and not critique because I am familiar with the creator’s works and their humour so I know I’m going to get a good show.

During my bit of research on What We Do In The Shadows, I found a couple of interesting facts:

  • They shot 125 hours of footage
  • They basically lied to Stu (who plays Stu) convincing him he wouldn’t be in the film much, but gave him quite a big role in the final cut
Leave a Reply

