BSA231: Resolve

Over the last two weeks we’ve been learning how to use DaVinci Resolve, an editing and colour grading system.
Compared to Premiere Pro, it’s quite confusing because it works very differently. The most obvious difference is probably the way Resolve creates layers. In the adobe programmes, the layer that appears on top of your list is the dominant layer, the visible layer, but in Resolve it works the other way around so that the layer at the bottom is the dominant one. So far I haven’t found this particular feature to be confusing. What I find most confusing and difficult to remember are the keystrokes and what they do. Thankfully we’re still being given tutorials and so reminded of these keystrokes and what they do, but sooner or later I’m going to be needing to use this programme by myself. Since Resolve is free to download I’m going to get it on my computer so I can use it at home in my own time.


This week we also gave a presentation to show what research we’ve done on our clients and the progress we’ve made on the project so far. I was expecting to be the only unorganised one who’d only just contacted my potential client and not heard anything from them, but I wasn’t. That was a bit of a relief to be honest.
Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 8.34.12 amI put as much information on my presentation as I could, but since I’ve not yet met with the Foundation it was difficult to things such as their promotional needs. When it came to talking about that I just made some assumptions from what I had read or seen on their website, and also mentioned the obvious reasons for promotion like gaining publicity.

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 8.34.25 am

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 8.34.37 am

Screen Shot 2016-07-26 at 8.34.50 am

 

Leave a Reply

