BSA231: The In Between

Last week I was putting together ideas that were in the horror genre. I knew then that wasn’t really what I wanted to make, I was really just using those ideas to spark others off, and since then I have developed an idea that I am really quite excited to make. Since I haven’t completely developed this idea into a full story, I have decided to just start writing something so that I have something down on paper. When Duncan Sarkies was here earlier in the year I remember him telling us to just start writing something, no matter how bad it is or how little sense it makes, just as long as you get something down on paper/on the computer, and this has stuck with me. That advice helped me to write a short piece earlier in the year that I was quite proud of which I also turned into a screenplay that I quite liked, so I thought I would give that a shot for this project too.
I really enjoy writing in the first person and that’s how most of the stories I write are told and, in my opinion, that’s how I write best, so that is the way I’m writing the beginnings of this film.
The basic idea of this short film is that a girl has died and is stuck in “the in between”, but she doesn’t know she has died.
This idea came from a thought that had been running through my mind. I imagined a girl slowly approaching a body, but when she turns it over, she sees herself.

The screenshots below are from How I Live Now (2013), a Canadian-British film set in England. I really enjoyed the cinematography in this film, it feels very delicate and peaceful. This is the kind of feeling I’d like to achieve for my film.
In the scene that the first three screenshots are taken from, the weather was quite overcast, and I really like the atmosphere it creates and how it seems to reflect the character’s mood.

Screen Shot 2016-09-04 at 3.45.31 PMScreen Shot 2016-09-04 at 3.45.58 PMScreen Shot 2016-09-04 at 3.46.45 PMScreen Shot 2016-09-04 at 3.49.00 PMScreen Shot 2016-09-04 at 3.49.08 PMScreen Shot 2016-09-04 at 3.50.51 PMScreen Shot 2016-09-04 at 3.55.56 PMScreen Shot 2016-09-04 at 3.56.09 PM

 

I am setting myself a couple of challenges for this project and one of them is to use only natural lighting. The Revenant (2015) is my biggest influence for this challenge as it almost entirely uses only natural lighting. There was only one scene where artificial light was needed which was a scene at night around a campfire due to some issues created by the wind: “We had to lay a bunch of light bulbs around the fire to create a cushion of light,” Lubezki admits. “That’s all the light we used.” [1]

I’m pretty sure it seems like I’m being lazy not wanting to use lights in my film, but I honestly just want to have the challenge of making something look beautiful naturally. Obviously, the weather is going to be really important for this shoot. Ideally, I’d like it to be a little overcast, I don’t really want bright, glaring sun. Having this story set in “the in between”, it doesn’t make sense to me to have bright, warm sun because that suggests life and, as morbid as it sounds, the weather in this story needs to reflect the loss of life. As I mentioned earlier, I also really like the atmosphere and mood it creates.

 

I had a scene in my head, and I couldn’t figure out what it was from, which was pretty similar to my general idea: A girl was crying over her dead body once she had realised she was actually a ghost. Eventually I figured out that it was from an episode of American Horror Story: Murder House. Even though I couldn’t figure out where it was from I was taking a bit of inspiration from it for the mood of my story as it is quite an emotional scene and, even though I don’t think my character will be crying, the whole situation is emotional.

 


  1. http://variety.com/2015/artisans/production/the-revenant-cinematography-emmanuel-lubezki-1201661435/
One thought on “BSA231: The In Between

Leave a Reply

