BSA206: I so sad.

I remember watching Titanic (1997) when I was about 6 or 7 and just bawling from the moment the ship started sinking until the end. I think that little me knew that everyone was going to die and that just made me really sad. I also thought that the ship was really beautiful and it made me sad that it was going to sink and never be seen again.
Of course I also cried more when Jack dies, but that’s kind of a given. Most people find that part pretty sad.

titanic_sinking titanic_large

Another part of Titanic that made me really sad as a child was when Rose runs along the deck to the back of the ship, planning to jump. It wasn’t the part where she is hanging off the ship, just the short scene where she is crying and running along the deck. I didn’t really understand why this was happening when I was young,  but the fact that I could see this lady running and crying as if she was being chased made me really sad and concerned.

promise7

 

Another thing that made me very sad when I was little was a scene from the TV Series The Animals of Farthing Wood where the hedgehogs die. We had this series on video so I watched it hundreds of times and I swear I cried every time without fail, and I would still cry if i watched it now.
I do remember the first time I watched it. Mole was my favourite character because he was small and shy and liked to snuggle on Badger’s back – I think he reminded me of myself to be honest – but Mole, as my favourite, was followed very closely by the hedgehogs. I think I liked them for the same reasons as Mole except, instead of snuggling into Badger, they would always stick close to each other and I found that very endearing. So, as you can imagine, I was very upset when they died. The clip below is the scene where they die (they get run over crossing the road), and when I was little, I had such hope that they would make it out the other side and part of me didn’t quite understand when they didn’t get back up again. I think I didn’t quite understand that the people that made The Animals of Farthing Wood had no idea that the hedgehogs were my favourites and shouldn’t die.

Now, I don’t find it so sad. I find it more frustrating than anything because they literally just curl up and die. The hedgehogs get themselves in a difficult and dangerous situation which terrifies them, decide they can’t make it through, curl up into a ball and let death – or a speeding car – take them. Oh, but at least they have each other.

 

 

 

When I am asked what movies I find tragic nowadays, my mind immediately springs to Clint Eastwood’s Changeling (2008) starring Angelina Jolie. It is based on the true story of Christine Collins who’s son disappeared and was never found. What I find particularly sad or tragic about this film is the part where the police bring a boy to Christine and tell her it’s her son when it isn’t. Even though they know this is not her child, they won’t admit this to her and force her to take this boy and take care of him as if he were her son. This makes me sad because through the action of carelessly handing off a strange child to a grieving mother, it becomes clear to the audience and the character, even at this early stage in the story, that no one is going to help her find her son.

We do receive a kind of resolution at the end of the film, but it is not a happy one. We discover that Christine’s son was kidnapped along with several other young boys. Some of the boys managed to escape, but Christine’s son never did. Although Christine gains some peace from knowing what happened to her son, but it’s a tragic ending because, not only does she find out that her son was murdered, but she has to watch another mother be reunited with her son who did survived.

 

Leave a Reply

