BSA206: Mind blown

When I first saw Lord of the Rings I didn’t know what to expect because I didn’t know the story. I was just told that it was about hobbits (not that  knew what hobbits were).
The films blew me away. Sure, I was just a little kid and a lot of things do blow you mind at a young age, but the Lord of the Rings movies were just amazing. I knew that the movies had been filmed in New Zealand so seeing this fantastical world set in such a familiar environment made the experience even more magical for me.
The places in the world of Middle Earth that stood out to me the most were Rivendell and Lothlórien. They were just so beautiful and I think it gave me a little hope that maybe those places could exist.

 

vlc_2014-05-26_20-03-51-81-bmp
Falkor

Falkor from The Neverending Story (1984) blew my mind as a child. I remember the first time I watched this film and first seeing Falkor, I wasn’t sure if he was good or bad. I remember thinking that he seemed nice, but he was so huge that surely he must be dangerous. I really wanted him to be good because he seemed so soft and cuddly, but I couldn’t help but think Falkor was playing a trick on Atreyu. Thankfully, I was wrong and Falkor was the absolute best.
The reason this character blew my mind was because of how huge he was, but also how realistic he seemed (at the time). I also loved the way he just seemed like an over grown soft toy, in fact he reminded me of my Cuddly Bear, the most favourite of all my soft toys.
The Neverending Story was another of the videos my Nana had at her house so I would watch this film over and over again, and every time I would cry at Artax’s death, but I would know that Falkor was going to show up soon so that was okay.

If I think of what blows my mind now, completely different kinds of things come to mind. Mostly, I am now impressed by the cinematography in a film or the excellent story rather than how magical a world seems or how large and cuddle a character is.
Every time I watch an episode of Peaky Blinders (2013) I get really excited over the beautiful cinematography. This show doesn’t have really epic shots like the Lord of the Rings, or just about any other film set in New Zealand, instead Peaky Blinders has a lot of gentle, intimate  shots and this really impresses me because that’s exactly what I love seeing in cinema and photography. It also helps that the story and characters are really well written.

Leave a Reply

