BSA306: A new Project

The challenge ahead: research a topic, technique or style etc. that interests me and produce a body of work based on my findings.

Obviously my biggest interests are film and photography so my research will be focused around elements of these mediums. I am considering the idea of a multi medium project that uses both film and photography. I would to try taking the same techniques, ideas or styles and presenting them as works of photography and film to then compare the final products, even though I feel it could be very ambitious with the work load I am about to take on. I would compare them in the way the idea is portrayed, how it is received and whether or not the pieces are translated in the same way. Alongside this I would be interested to know which piece myself, and others, found to be more successful.

I definitely think the question I will be exploring will be based around the idea of the piece rather than the techniques used in it. That being said, I would love to explore the use of low lighting to create mood and emotion in this work.

This article discusses lighting techniques in film and the effects they have on the subject.

In this blog post from a cinematography student, backlighting, and when to use it, is explored. I found this interesting because I was thinking of predominantly featuring silhouettes in my project and those are created by backlighting the subject. This blog post discussed various forms of backlighting the different moods each creates. Perhaps I could try and utilise as many of these techniques as possible to create different moods through the lighting.

I love the lighting used in these images by Babak Fatholahi.
What I like about the first image is the sense of mystery that is created by the lighting. I would love to try something like this in my project because I think it feels very sombre, like there is something lost and this is emphasised through the fact that we can only see the model’s face and everything else seems to fall into the shadows.

screen-shot-2017-02-18-at-10-53-04-am
© Babak Fatholahi

This second image has a very different mood to the first. It’s still very dark and “moody”, but I think the emotions felt from it are almost opposite. I feel like the use of lighting and the model’s pose suggest hope and determination. I always like to try and find a story within an image and to me the story in this is one of a woman who has been trapped in a dark place, struggling with life, but now she is beginning to come out of that place and move on into a happier and brighter future. Even though that sounded incredibly cheesy, I would love to try and create that kind of feeling, or story, in my own photographs for this project.

fullsizeoutput_13f0
© Babak Fatholahi

 

I found this essay interesting as it looks at the use of lighting in several scenes in Casablanca (1942) saying, “Casablanca is considered by many to be the finest example of the film noir style of the 1940s”. This essay focuses a lot on the use of lighting to represent emotions or the state of mind of the characters.


 

The next step for me in this project will be to decide what exactly my focus will be. I do know that I will be focusing on emotion in film and photography, but I’m not sure just yet whether or not that will also relate to lighting. Though I am interested in how lighting can effect the mood of a scene or reflect the emotional state of a character, I’m not sure my interest is strong enough to keep me enthusiastic and invested throughout the project.

Leave a Reply

