Bent.

Bent is the title of the film I will be making a trailer for. The name refers to the saying “bent not broken”, and I chose to use this because I feel this is very relevant to the characters in this story.

I did my best to write in 5 speaking characters, as required for this project, and partially succeeded. I have five characters in the trailer, as it currently stands, but only two speaking roles. Over the next week or so I am going to write out one or two more scenes from the full story to see if I can work in more dialogue for other characters.

The last couple of weeks I have been working on the pre-production for this project where I developed a director’s manifesto. During this process I have realised that the trailer, and in fact the whole first season, of Broadchurch has become a key source of inspiration. Not only am I taking inspiration from this show for the visual style, but also some of the characters. The two characters in particular that I find very relevant to my own project are Beth and Mark Latimer (played by Jodie Whittaker and Andrew Buchan, respectively) who are a couple who’s relationship is challenged after they discover their 11-year-old son has been murdered. What I am drawing on from these characters is how their relationship is affected by this tragedy. The event that causes strains on the relationship between my characters is less tragic, but causes emotional breakdowns regardless. Understandably, the roles of the Latimers require very emotional performances and I think Whittaker and Buchan do an excellent job of this. For this reason, I will be suggesting to the actors who play my characters to look at these roles and draw inspiration from them also.

Leave a Reply

